tel aviv graffiti

Icon

writing on the walls of the white city.

Anyone else find this a bit on the creepy side?

I was poking around a somewhat left-wing Israeli blog on my lunch break and I saw that it won this:
Brass Crescent Bestest Infidel
When I saw the image it rubbed me the wrong way… so I clicked it to see if I could find out if it was what I thought it was.
And it was: Here’s the description of the award category:

Which blog writen by a non-Muslim is most respectful of Islam and seeks genuine dialogue with Muslims?

I checked out the Jewish and Israeli blog awards rules to see if there is a “Greatest Goy” category, but there is not. I’m relieved. I’d be embarrassed if we started handing out awards that required the entrants to put their religion on the form. Aside from that, it’s an interesting instance of Orientalism in action… I hope.

creepy.

Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Responses

  1. Another marvellous post!! Just thought I’d let you know!

    –ADM

  2. Red Tulips says:

    Hi, Streetcat! I saw you posted on my blog! Thanks for the update re: the brass crescent award. We both know who won it.

    Cheers,

    RT

Leave a Reply

